Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 11th, 2011

Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s day is not our day.  It never has been.  It probably never will be.  Let’s recap, shall we.

V-Day 1:  Trey and I had been dating for two months (or three weeks, if you ask him).  Of course, being the very cool, very laid-back girl that I am, I told Trey that I didn’t need anything, and we didn’t even need to go out to dinner.  So what did Trey do???  Nothing.  Nada.  Zero.  Zilch.  Zip.  Null.  Oh wait.  Yes he did.  He brought me a Dairy Queen cheeseburger.  Silly man.  I tried not to cry.  I did!!  I really, really, did!  But come on, we all know that I’m not really “laid-back” and everyone knows that even when a girl says “don’t get me anything for Valentine’s Day”, you cover your bottom!!!  I cried, he apologized for being such a man.  Game Over, day done.

V-Day 2:  Trey, being the genius that he is, realized that he better do something.  Anything to make this Valentine’s Day better!  After all, he couldn’t have done much worse!  We were kinda broke, and we didn’t have a babysitter for Elliot, so Trey brought me the most beautiful Gerbera Daisies (my FAV, FYI), a card, and a big beautiful balloon.  Good job Trey, you learn very quickly and you’re amazing.  The next day, we get into an argument.  I pop the balloon, tear up the card, and cut my flowers to shreds….  Go me.  Very mature.

V-Day 3:  So, I think at this point we thought, “We’re doing so well.  We’re so happy together.  Why ruin it with Valentine’s day?”  Perfection.

V-Day 4:  Trey:  “Hey!  I got you pregnant!  That’s what you wanted, right?  I’m good for all Holidays this year.”  Epic fail.

So now we’re on Valentine’s Day number 5.  We’ve been happily married for almost two years, we have two beautiful children, and we’re generally blissfully happy.   Not to mention, there’s an infant sleeping between us every night…  need I elaborate??  So, it seems that Valentine’s Day this year will be a pretty uneventful day.  But I think I’ve grown.  I always believed that Valentine’s Day is the day that your man makes it known to the world how much he loves you.  It’s taken me 28 years to realize (and I think I heard it from a Hallmark commercial) that Valentine’s Day is not about what all Trey can do to show me he loves me.  He does that everyday.   It’s not about my man showing the world that he loves me, and the world doesn’t care anyway.  It’s about us showing each other how much we love each other.  But the thing is, we love and adore one another every day.  And although, I run the risk of sounding incredibly corny, everyday, in our house, is what Valentine’ Day should be.  We’ve been through so much darkness together and we came out the other side holding hands.  We show our boys every day how two people treat one another when they love each other.  THAT is the most important thing.  THAT makes us a success.  Now, I’m sure that I’ll get something, because Trey doesn’t make the same mistake twice (see V-Day one), but I will be so happy just to wake up on Monday, next to the man who I am so madly in love with, with the two healthy, happy children that we have created together.  I know that there is nowhere else in the world that I would rather be.

I’m pretty sure it doesn’t get any better than this.  No, I’m positive it doesn’t get any better than this.  I never knew that this much happiness was possible, and I’ve found it in my wonderful husband that just can’t get Valentine’s Day right 🙂

I’m still not sure why he chose me, and I don’t know how he can just stare at me like I’m the only girl he’s ever seen. But he does, and I like it.  And I’m in love.  And if it does get better than this, I think I might explode!

Read Full Post »